DFAT advises that:

The First Protocol to Amend the ASEAN-Australia-New Zealand Free Trade Area (AANZFTA) will enter into force for seven countries: Australia, New Zealand, Brunei, Burma [Myanmar], the Philippines, Singapore and Vietnam on 1 October 2015. It is also expected to enter into force for Laos, Malaysia and Thailand on this date. It is not expected to enter into force for Cambodia and Indonesia before 1 January 2016.

The Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade (DFAT) website will provide up-to-date information on which countries have entered into force.

The First Protocol builds on the existing Agreement and aims to further enhance opportunities for business. The key changes affect the implementation of the rules of origin and the AANZFTA Certificate of Origin (CoO) used to claim AANZFTA preferential tariff rates. It is important that businesses using AANZFTA to import or export goods acquaint themselves with the changes to AANZFTA and ensure that they are ready for the implementation of the First Protocol.

Following the First Protocol’s entry into force on 1 October 2015, there will be a six month transition period which will allow for greater flexibility to provide business time to familiarise themselves with the changes. DFAT is working closely with the Department of Immigration and Border Protection (DIPB) and with Australia’s two CoO Issuing Bodies, Australian Industry Group (AiGroup) and the Australian Chamber of Commerce and Industry (ACCI), on preparations for the 1 October implementation date.

The DFAT website provides detailed information on the First Protocol and what this means for business, including a guide for business. Enquiries can be directed to the DFAT AANZFTA enquiry point (asean.fta@dfat.gov.au). The Issuing Bodies will also be providing information to their members on their arrangements for implementing the First Protocol.

Recommended Posts