• Wednesday, May 09, 2018 11:11 AM | ATBC Administrator (Administrator)

    Prime Minister Malcom Turnbull and Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) leaders have agreed to intensify their shared work to shape a more secure and prosperous region.

    A joint statement released at the close of the ASEAN-Australia Special Summit in March 2018 - 'The Sydney Declaration' - sets out a clear vision for the future of the ASEAN-Australia partnership, with a commitment to further elevate cooperation.

    During the Summit, leaders agreed to boost trade, investment and business links between Australia and ASEAN, with new initiatives on smart cities, infrastructure development, economic policy cooperation, digital standards, education exchanges, counter-terrorism and security cooperation.

    The ASEAN-Australia Special Summit marks a new era in the increasingly close relationship and reaffirms Australia and ASEAN as partners with a vital stake in a dynamic region undergoing major changes.

    For more information on Summit outcomes:

    Media Release

    Bangkok Post

    Thailand Ministry of Foreign Affairs,-Prime-Minister-of-Thai.html

    Joint Statement of the ASEAN-Australia Special Summit:

    Fact sheets

  • Tuesday, February 13, 2018 2:46 PM | ATBC Administrator (Administrator)

    ASEAN-Australia Digital Trade Survey

    The growth of digital trade is becoming more influential in shaping the trade of goods and services across ASEAN and Australia. Delivering on the potential of digital trade to support job creation, innovation and interoperability, is critical to improve ASEAN and Australia’s global competitiveness. The ASEAN-Australia Digital Trade Standards Initiative is a ground-breaking project where ASEAN member states and Australia  are working together to expand business opportunities, deepen standards harmonisation and facilitate economic integration in our region.

    As part of the initiative Standards Australia ( are conducting an ASEAN - Australia Digital Trade Survey across ASEAN member states and Australia. The survey can be accessed by clicking on the following link: 

    The Survey is a key opportunity for stakeholders and member states in our region to provide feedback and views on the issues, challenges and opportunities associated with the development of a more inclusive digital trade environment. Responses will be used to assist in the development of future digital trade cooperation programmes across ASEAN and Australia.

    The Survey will close on Monday 26 March 2018.

    The ATBC urges any interested members to complete the survey by clicking on the link provided. Thank you.

  • Friday, December 08, 2017 2:44 PM | ATBC Administrator (Administrator)

    At the 37th AGM of the Australia Thailand Business Council (ATBC), held at the offices of member firm Kingsgate, in Sydney on 8 November 2017, we are pleased to advise that the following Board was elected unanimously:

    National President - Doug Blunt                     Treasurer - Doug Blunt

    Vice-President - Jamie Gibson                        Assistant Secretary - Peter Siripol

    Secretary - Jamie Gibson                                 Board Member - Peter Siripol

    ATBC 2017 AGM Minutes Actions Arising 8 November 2017 .pdf

  • Sunday, December 13, 2015 4:38 PM | ATBC Administrator (Administrator)

    At the 35th AGM of the Australia Thailand Business Council (ATBC)  held at the Offices of member firm Kingsgate on 30 November 2015, we are pleased to advise that the following Board was elected unanimously


    Joint National Presidents - John Connor, Doug Blunt and Robert Taylor

    Treasurer - Doug Blunt

    Secretary - Jamie Gibson ( Kingsgate)

    Board Member - Kert Stavorn ( Siam Legal)

    In addition Peter (Pichai) Siripol in Canberra has kindly offered to continue his role as Public Officer for filing purposes in the ACT.


    Tony Moon (UTS) did not stand for re-election and the Board acknowledged the support he has provided to the Council over the years.


    It was agreed to further explore the links with AustCham in Bangkok in respect to potential new members and services to our members, and to liaise with the Honorary Patron, His Excellency the Ambassador of Thailand to Australia in respect to Thai businesses operating in Australia to encourage their participation in ATBC.


    A sub-committee of Jamie Gibson and Kert Stavorn are also looking at other ways to expand the member base, review the content and relevance of the ATBC website and other potential social media engagement.


    A further meeting of the Board will occur in the new calendar Year at which time the various initiatives for 2016 will be prioritised and scheduled.


    The Board has structured the organisational costs of the Council such that the annual costs are modest, and given the funds in hand, no membership fees are being charged to existing members for the balance of the 2015/16 financial year.

    On behalf of the Board.


    D R Blunt R Taylor J Connor
    Joint Presidents -December 2015

  • Tuesday, October 06, 2015 2:18 PM | ATBC Administrator (Administrator)

    DFAT advises that:


    The First Protocol to Amend the ASEAN-Australia-New Zealand Free Trade Area (AANZFTA) will enter into force for seven countries: Australia, New Zealand, Brunei, Burma [Myanmar], the Philippines, Singapore and Vietnam on 1 October 2015. It is also expected to enter into force for Laos, Malaysia and Thailand on this date.  It is not expected to enter into force for Cambodia and Indonesia before 1 January 2016.


    The Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade (DFAT) website will provide up-to-date information on which countries have entered into force the First Protocol


    The First Protocol builds on the existing Agreement and aims to further enhance opportunities for business.  The key changes affect the implementation of the rules of origin and the AANZFTA Certificate of Origin (CoO) used to claim AANZFTA preferential tariff rates. It is important that businesses using AANZFTA to import or export goods acquaint themselves with the changes to AANZFTA and ensure that they are ready for the implementation of the First Protocol. 


    Following the First Protocol’s entry into force on 1 October 2015, there will be a six month transition period which will allow for greater flexibility to provide business time to familiarise themselves with the changes. DFAT is working closely with the Department of Immigration and Border Protection (DIPB) and with Australia’s two CoO Issuing Bodies, Australian Industry Group (AiGroup) and the Australian Chamber of Commerce and Industry (ACCI), on preparations for the 1 October implementation date.


    The DFAT website provides detailed information on the First Protocol and what this means for business, including a guide for business.  Enquiries can be directed to the DFAT AANZFTA enquiry point []. The Issuing Bodies will also be providing information to their members on their arrangements for implementing the First Protocol. 

  • Wednesday, November 05, 2014 6:17 PM | ATBC Administrator (Administrator)

    Members are invited to attend the 2014 AGM to be held at 4pm on Thursday 27 November 2014 at the Board Room of our member, Kingsgate Consolidated, Suite 801,  Level 8, 14 Martin Place, Sydney, NSW 2000.

    A notice of meeting has been sent to all Members.

    Members can attend in person, or by teleconference - please contact the Council at the if you would like details of the conference call arrangements.

Copyright © 2012 Australia Thailand Business Council  •  Website by Highland Creative